(Western Region includes Manitoba, Saskatchewan, Alberta, B.C., NWT, and Yukon)

Aboriginal Business (Canada) is delivered under the authority of the Department of Industry (Canada). The Programs are headquartered in Ottawa and Aboriginal people are served through seven Regional Offices. The mission of Aboriginal Business (Canada) is to stimulate greater participation by Aboriginal individuals and businesses in national economic activity by providing them with the means to manage business enterprises and economic institutions as well as opportunities for on the job training and skills development. Aboriginal Business (Canada) has two major programs to assist Aboriginal people, they are as follows:

1) Aboriginal Business Development and Joint Ventures Program

This program provides financial and development assistance to Aboriginal entrepreneurs and communities to acquire, start up or expand commercial ventures.

2) Aboriginal Capital Corporations Program

The objective of this program is to expand the Aboriginal infrastructure for financing in order to enhance access to capital for Aboriginal businesses. The program fosters the further development of a network of commercial loan corporations owned and controlled by Aboriginal people.